About Us

In 1938 Bishop Gerald P O'Hara called for the establishment of a Diocesan Council of Catholic Women. The first organizational meeting was held in Macon. At that time the entire state of Georgia was known as the Diocese of Savannah-Atlanta. In 1956 the one Diocese was redesignated and became the two we now know as the Diocese of Savannah and the Archdiocese of Atlanta. The Diocese of Savannah is comprised of 90 counties within the 37,038 square miles of south Georgia. These 90 counties are divided into seven deaneries - Savannah, Augusta, Macon, Valdosta-Brunswick, Columbus, Albany and Statesboro.

Bishop Gerald P O'Hara